Arizona State University information

Arizona State University

Arizona State University (ASU or Arizona State) is a public research university, located in the metropolitan Phoenix in the State of Arizona.With a workforce of 70,440 students, is the largest public university in the United States.

Founded in 1885 as the Normal School of Tempe, Arizona Territory, the school under control of the Arizona Board of Regents in 1945 and was renamed Arizona State a statewide election in 1958 gave the university its current name.

ASU offers programs in the arts and sciences, engineering, journalism, economics, politics, law, nursing, and public. The university is largely divided into 14 departments and has spread to the four campuses: the original Tempe campus, West campus in northwest Phoenix, Polytechnic campus in Mesa East, and the Downtown Phoenix campus. All four campuses are accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of an institution.

ASU athletic teams compete in Division I of the NCAA and are collectively known as the Sun Devils Arizona State. They are members of the Pacific-12 Conference and has won 23 national championships.