Philadelphia Eagles information

Philadelphia Eagles

The Philadelphia Eagles are an American professional football team based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They are members of the Eastern Division of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL). The Eagles have won three titles in the NFL and made two appearances in the Super Bowl, losing at once (in 1980 for the Oakland Raiders and Patriots of New England 2005).

The club was established in 1933 as a replacement for the Blue Jackets Frankford Yellow bankruptcy, after a consortium led by future NFL commissioner Bert Bell purchased the rights of a franchise of the League of Philadelphia. The Eagles were named after the Blue Eagle, a symbol used in the new stimulus programs initiated during the Great Depression Treat.